asher63 (asher63) wrote,
asher63
asher63

2019-11-19 Tuesday morning

It's raining quite busily outside, but the forecast for Hillsboro calls for it to taper off soon. So I can expect to need my raincoat for my morning commute. My work commute (via the 48 bus on Cornell) entails a total of about 45 minutes of walking per day, which I like - although I do look forward to having a driveable car again one day.

Yesterday I had a phone interview for an internal job opening - I'm currently working at Green Hills Semiconductor as a contractor, but I think they may be interested in hiring me on, and this interview was for an IT support position similar to what I'm doing now. I think the interview went well, and I'm looking forward to hearing back from the company about possible next steps.

I'm working my way through the Book of Genesis, chapter by chapter, and I've started writing some remarks (it would sound grandiose to call it a "commentary") on the book. Hoping to get another chapter done tonight after work. The project is still very much a work in progress, but you can read what I've got so far here:

https://asherabramsgenesis5780.com/

[EDIT: Fixed link.]

In January I'm set to start online classes at Portland Community College. I'll be taking a two-year program in CIS (to earn certificates in Cybersecurity and Microsoft Server Administration), plus lower-division credits in mathematics: Calculus 2, Calculus 3, Linear Algebra (all of which I've taken and passed before, but I need a refresher), and Differential Equations.
Tags: journal
Subscribe

  • I feel like I'm 29 all over again ...

    ... and actually, I am 29 "all over again"! So I spent natal anniversary number fifty-eight quietly at home. First paycheck from the new gig hit the…

  • Retrospective: 8 years.

    It was actually in October - November of 2011 that I visited Israel, but I didn't get around to posting the photos on LJ until January 2012. This set…

  • Random notes.

    We've all known the bright kid who came home from the library with a big stack of books and sat in his room reading all day and thought he knew…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 8 comments